Friday, July 24, 2009

Linguistic Heritage of India

The cultural heritage of India has a number of aspects to it and linguistic heritage is probably the one, which is most fascinating of all. Linguistic heritage of India is where one can trace the history of different languages spoken in India.


India have evolved over a period of time of Indian history. Most of the languages spoken in India in one way or the other belong to two main families of languages, which are the Dravidian and Aryan. Both the Dravidian and Aryan languages have different scripts. There are other languages that belong to the Sino-Tibetan-Mongoloid family. These languages are mostly spoken in the east of India.

Most of the South Indian languages that are spoken today belong to the Dravidian family, while in the northern side of India, the language belongs to the Aryan family. But it is interesting to note here how different invaders during different periods in Indian history affected and enriched the Indian languages.

After the independence of India, policy makers decided to make Hindi as the official language of India, however they declared that English could also be used for official purposes.

The reason behind choosing Hindi as the official language was that it was the most commonly spoken language and its association with the freedom movement of India.

Some of the popular languages spoken in different parts of India include Hindi, English, Tamil, Bengali, Assamese, Malayalam, Gujarati, Punjabi and Urdu. Come on a heritage tour of India and discover the linguistic heritage of India with Heritage in India.
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

1 comment:

  1. My cousin recommended this blog and she was totally right keep up the fantastic work!

    Used Cars in India